LA River Ride 2014

053aa01f8-1f2c-0000
DCIM101GOPROThe LA River Ride is a fun ride that benefits the Los Angeles County Bicycle Coalition who helps out cycling in the LA area. This year I decided to ride the 100 mile ride and try to do it under six hours. The profile is mostly flat so it isn’t to hard to maintain speed, the real annoying part is the head winds when you get close to the beach.

Right from the start the pace was good and my legs felt strong. After a small loop around Griffith Park we headed towards the beach. I took two breaks to refill my water bottles, one at 54 miles and another at 84 miles. I packed plenty of GU’s and Cliff bars in my jersey pockets so I was able to eat while riding. The heat was in the high 90’s but I was determined to make my time goal.

Im happy to say I finished the century in 5:33:46 and is now my fastest time for 100 miles. I was meet by my wife and daughter and the finish line as usual and I tell you after cycling for so long its a blessing to see your family waiting to hug you and congratulate you at the end.
http://www.strava.com/activities/156969375/embed/920e1b70c023df4280c11da9cc59e6c7380c1f64

Leave a Reply

