Cold Season Cycling

Cycling in the cold weather can sometimes be a real pain. Now I want to make it clear that I live in Los Angeles and compared to other areas the weather in Southern California is nothing but for me and my warm summers it makes a difference. The cold weather could even keep you from hitting your weekly milage. For some this is the off season and they use this time for other activities and take a rest from the road. For one the Fall time change really takes a toll on the sunlight you have to ride in. I cant stand cycling at night, even with bike lights cars are not respectful to you and it could get dangerous. So the other options are to wake up extremely early and cycle before work instead of after work.

A few things that I have introduce to my gear for this cold weather are:

  • Cannondale Men’s Headband – The headband keeps my ears extremely warm. I can’t tell you how many times my ear lobs have felt like they were going to freeze off. Any brand will work I just went with the Cannondale because it was what my local bike shop carried.
  • Zan’s Half Face Neoprene Mask – This accessory is completely optional. It might not get that cold where you need a mask but sometimes the cold air can make your face freeze. I don’t wear this very often or for very long so it’s a good thing that it folds up and fits in my jersey pocket.
  • Pearl Izumi Men’s Elite Thermal Knee Warmer – The knee warmers do make a difference. In the cold weather I find that it takes longer to warm up my muscles and these help. The knee warmers go up to the top of my thigh and end about three inches below my knee.
  • Pearl Izumi Men’s Elite Thermal Arm Warmer – These are probably one of the best investments I’ve made. Not only do they keep my arms warm in the cold weather they also protect me from the sun. Being that I plan to cycle for a long time i’ll be spending a lot of time under the sun and this can have long term affects to my skin. The warmers aren’t to bad so I’m not burning up in the sun so I’m able to use them any time.
  • Stone Ruination Cycling Cap – A good cycling cap can keep your head warm during cold rides. It’s thin enough to wear right under your helmet with no discomfort.
  • Nike Men’s Swift Attitude Run Gloves – I bought these thin gloves so I could wear them under my summer cycling gloves. I have a pair of of cycling gloves with the fingers exposed and they work great, I didn’t want to buy a second pair of gloves just for a few months. The Nike gloves keep my finger tips warm when I start my ride and once I am all warmed up I can take them off and carry them in my jersey pocket.

The best thing about all this extra gear is that it is removable and can be folded to fit in my jersey pockets.

Leave a Reply

