Tour de Sewer 2013

The Tour de Sewer was my last scheduled tour for the 2013 cycling season. The tour is usually set up right before Fall starts so it wont be to cold for the cyclists. The Tour de Sewer is put together by The Bell Gardens Lions Club to help raise money for the city of Bell Gardens and provide eye exams and glasses for hundreds of Bell Garden school children and set up a scholarship program for local students. There are four ride levels 15, 25, 50 and 60 miles. Both the 50 and 60 mile rides include climbing.

I decided to register for the 60 mile ride as it had a climb that I had been wanting to do for some time. On this ride I road alone, my wife and daughter saw me off at the start line and I was on my 60 mile journey. Along the route I meet some good people and stuck with them. At the 20 mile mark I meet a friendly more experienced rider named Joe who owns a bicycle repair shop in my area and I decided to stick with him for the remainder of the ride. It’s always good to have some company to motivate each other along the ride.

The high light of the ride was at the 40 mile mark when we started our climb up Turnbull Canyon road. It is about a 3 mile hill at about 6 degrees. Not a horrible climb but still a new hill for me to conquer. I had been training for this type of roads for some time now and it paid off. I was able to power up that hill in no time and almost kept up with Joe. He later told me that he saw me gaining on him from the corner of his eye, and congratulated me on a good climb.

This is a fun tour and I can’t wait for next year to do it again. Maybe next time ill climb Turnbull Canyon much faster too.

2 thoughts on “Tour de Sewer 2013

  1. Thank you for your post! I am considering doing the 2014 Tour de Sewer and after reading your blog and experience, I know I can do the 60 mile route. If I am in town (from the Bay Area), I will register. I found your post on a Google search. Cindy

    Like

    1. I’m glad the post helped you Cindy. I recently came back from the Bay area and you have some good climbing over there so this ride will be fun for you. I might see you there this year. Good luck and have fun. Please let me know if you have any more questions I’ll be happy to help.

      Like

Leave a Reply

